Menu

Equestrian Moms....Newbie here

Hi,

Due to finances and location, we were never able to do equestrian, and also my daughter was not as interested. She just began and absolutely loves it. She has always dreamed of being around horses, but just didn't necessarily want the lessons. (She always pictured herself on a farm with friendly horses around, petting them, etc.)

Anyway, she is beginning English style and has a good helmet (OneK), paddocks, chaps, jods, etc. (oh my gosh I'm broke.) ....

Can anyone give us advice for newbies...just little things you wish you knew? (Without scaring me please I already know how dangerous it is.)

Also, what should lessons look like, and how much should the teacher talk about safety? This teacher didn't say much, but she did intuitivel SHOW my daughter many safety things. However, then the tack lady was giving me advice and saying safety training should be verbal, and often. My daughter is very intuitive and the instructor may have picked up on this, but I still want to know, what to look for in the next few lessons. We have two barns nearby, so we do have some choices.

What I liked about this barn was that it was laid back, the horses are gorgeous and very well kept (they raise performance horses), and there are summer camps, parties, and some of the kids also go to 4H which my dd will go to.

What I wasn't sure about, was, it looked like other girls having lessons before we got there weren't getting one on one training and were left to just walk their horse in circles for almost 10 minutes. But my dd said it could have been their cool-down period and what do I know? I don't know the first thing. :) Also, she was training a big male horse in the paddock with the thing-that-looks-like-a-whip-but-isn't-it's-made-of-string....isnt that dangerous to trian a big male horse while 2 girls are having their lessons? Or is that normal?

During her lesson my dd had one on one instruction and no other horse in the paddock.