Menu

Rising 9th grader.....how to keep track of grades

Hi,

I've been homeschooling for 8 years, and my oldest will be going into 9th grade next year.  How do you keep track of grades?  How do you know what your child is suppossed to take? I've looked at VP Diploma program just to take the load off of me, but I'm not sure that's what I want to do.  I'm feeling a little overwhelmed.  I would love any advice you could give me.  Thanks! :)

Start reading through the sticky threads for general information.

you can orient your course choices on your state's graduation requirements for public schools or on the admissions requirements of colleges he would be interested in, if he is college bound.

Recording grades is easy. Write them down in a word document or a notebook or an excel file.

I found it easiest to give as few grades as possible - major tests, finals, major writing assignments, but not daily work.

I just make a "gradebook" excel file each year.  Each course is a tab.  Then I record each graded thing for each course in its own tab.

I also keep all of my student's work and at the end of the year I go through and make sure that everything in the notebook is in the gradebook and vice versa.  Then I keep the notebook(s).

I also have a folder on my computer where the gradebooks live.  That's where the transcript and course descriptions go too.  I recommend that you write course descriptions as part of closing out the courses at the end of the year and not wait until your child applies to college (like I did for the older one!).

As for graduation requirements, I looked at the well regarded local public high school's requirements and made mine to meet or exceed them.  

I keep grades with my annual lesson schedules now -- one place for everything.

I have an excel spreadsheet with the following columns:

Lesson #, Materials, Lesson Description, Date Completed, Checked, Grade