Menu

Studying Latin and Greek

I was wondering if you all who frequent this board and have your home school schedule, oh so under control, would mind answering a question for me. DD will be starting Greek next year. At least she wants to. She'll have 3 years of Latin under her belt. In order for me to prepare teaching her (I was thinking of using Elementary Greek) how far in advance should I study??? Now?

I am studying in Henle right now (only finishing up week 8 in Henle I) in order to prepare teaching her Henle when she switches over in 7th grade, and I am wondering if it is feasible to study Greek along side Latin? Will it confuse me?

I've heard students shouldn't attempt Greek unless they have 3 years of Latin. Of course, not everyone follows that and there are lots of Greek programs suited for younger kids. I realize that. But, with the knowledge of me studying Henle I right now, when should I include Greek into my studies? Should I wait until I'm farther along in Henle? How far ahead in Greek should I be than my daughter? If I start, say, next summer, would that be enough if she started in the fall?

I would appreciate any input! Thanks!

Thanks, Laura, for your input. I wasn't thinking that I would need Latin to study Greek, I was thinking more along the lines of learning two languages at once. I want to have a grasp a little bit on Greek before dd starts learning it and I just didn't know how long it takes for it to "click" as I've heard it is much different than Latin.

:)

I learned Greek alongside Latin before my son started Greek. It was fine. There are enough differences that I never got them confused. And, the two clarify each other very well. I thought it was a great way to go.