Menu

Is TOG enough?

sseale

This is my first year homeschooling and I pieced our curriculum together with the help of a couple friends and hours of research. We started with limited funds this last year so I didn't consider anything like TOG. But this year since I'm planning ahead I can. I'm still nervous though that my kids are getting everything they need. Anyone who uses TOG what else do you add besides math, science, and art?

I think it depends on the ages of your children. Elementary would require grammar, spelling, math, and science. TOG has a writing component that you can use if you want. I'm not using it since we are still working on reading skills. Even after reading is solid, I'll be using something else for my writing program. I don't think it covers music but I'm still in the ancients so it might hit some major composers once we get to that time period.

It is obviously thorough in history. It has good geography and literature components. It contains an art and activities section that is more craft-like than actual art instruction but you could use it as your art component in the younger years. I love the Bible and church history component. In upper levels, it also adds government and worldview components.

You can download the first 3 weeks of year 1 from their site and work through it to see how it fits your family. I found that to be really helpful in making my decision.  My favorite part is all the levels being included.  I plan to use TOG all the way through high school repeating each level 3 times.  That is worth the money for me! Hopefully someone with more experience will chime in for you since I've only been using it a few months but I love it so far.