Menu

Help me out - Language Arts (crosspost)

naturally

(cross-posting for exposure) :o

If you were to break down "Language Arts" into individual subjects what would you have?

~Reading (Start with phonics/learn to read, then reading/reading comprehension, then lit/analysis)

~Handwriting/Penmanship

~Grammar (nouns/verbs/etc, punctuation)

~Spelling

~Vocab

~Writing (letters, paragraphs, reports, creative)

Am I missing anything?

I really need to change some things in this area and I am lost on where to even begin looking. There are so many and I am still learning how my boys learn best.

For time issues, I'd love to have more than one subject together. But for progress, I don't mind them being separate so we can go at their pace, if each subject doesn't take forever. 

Oldest -

Spelling - He wants to go back to AAS. He's been using R&S spelling and *I* like it better because it's more independent. We are still discussing it. I wouldn't mind going back to AAS if other areas are more independent.

Pemanship - he just does copywork to practice cursive.

Reading - I've been having him "just read" but I need a little more direction with it. I like the looks of CLE but am just not sure. I need something with follow-through for me.

I know that R&S Eng is NOT working with him. Too much on the page (visually) and too much writing/copying over. We've tried doing orally but still hasn't worked great.I think he needs more spiral/review worked in. I've looked at CLE but he would have to start at Level 100 and I don't need the phonics, handwriting, or spelling so it seems a waste. But he needs to start back "at the beginning".

So what about everything else? Writing? Grammar? Vocab?

I've been looking at Critical Thinking's Language Smarts. He likes how the small sample looks. He liked CLE too so I think workbook is good.

Middle -