Menu

Algebra I to Geometry advisement for 2 children

I've read the recent geometry discussion and this has me questioning my plan for my two boys, both of whom are currently in Algebra I (Math-u-see).  I have geometry (MUS) for them to start (one is close to finishing Alg I.), but now I'm questioning if I should have them do a more challenging Algebra I course first?  (I have a computer science degree, and took Calculus my jr. year of high school, only to repeat it in college.  My experience lends me not to push my kids to Calculus, but prefer a solid grasp of basics.  I took a lot of math and physics in college...but never understood it.  I did really well in it just because I had good algebra skills!)  Both boys will likely do community college (though I would like to prepare them for 4 yr university in case they miraculously managed a scholarship, especially the 14yo.)

16yo sophomore: slow methodical worker, excellent grades, but moves slowly through material, and needs help applying occasionally. This student wants to be a robotics technician (it would be an engineer if he was more confident in math, and I hadn't suggested he look at technician due to working slowly.)  He is not going to make it Calculus in high school, but this student seems to be rapidly changing from an LD student into an A student!  I don't want to limit him, by not seeing him get as far as he can, but at the same time, he very much could use more help in problem solving!  (that will not appeal to him, since that's where he struggles!)  However, he's anxious to take robotics classes which often have math requirements he's in a hurry to meet.