Menu

Pre-curser to IEW

Hakg

I have a recently turned 8yo DS (will be grade 3 this coming year). This past year we have dabbled with a few writing programs and the main ones we have stuck with have been WWE2 and WWW2. For the coming year we plan to use Galore Park Jnr English 2 SYRWL. Would love to start IEW as well, however I dont think DS is quite ready for SWI-A. Is there an IEW product (not PAL) that would be good to use as a pre-curser to SWI-A? Or should we use something else?

I dont want to use WWE or WWW anymore as there is little retention with WWW, and after 2 years with WWE we have had enough. Both WWW and WWE were too slow and incremental for DS also.

I am looking at Writing Tales and the reviews seem luke warm (compared with IEW).

What would you recommend for a child this age for the coming year, who will most likely use IEW the year after (grade 4). I'd like something that will get him ready for KWO's etc.

Thank you :001_smile:

I've been using IEW for 5 years with my dc. It is truly okay to wait until 4th grade to begin IEW. You could start next year without doing any formal writing program. For 3rd grade, you could easily focus on letter writing, envelope addressing, etc. However, if you feel the need to begin writing with your ds, my recommendation would be to order the IEW "Teaching Writing with Structure and Style" set. It is a 9 part video series and notebook set that is purposes to equip the parent to teach writing to his/her children. Believe it or not, no other texts are needed. The videos will show you how to use literature/resources that are already part of your curriculum. You would watch the unit 1 video, which is about key word outlining, and then stay focused on that skill until it becomes easy for your dd. Then, you'd watch the unit 2 video. If you move slowly, without pushing your young ds,, the program will be easy to implement. As you become more familiar with IEW, you may opt for some of their theme based writing books, but th