Menu

Math & MEP questions

mamamindy

Okay, I am using MEP Reception for my K'er and I really like it. I've been using Singapore for my 1st grader... We're new to it & I don't mind it. But she doesn't seem to get subtraction. We're sort of stuck there as I don't want to advance until she's good with the basics. I have some Right Start math games on the way since she loves math games and I'm running out of ideas. We also use some Miquon (I'm still learning how to teach that) and c-rods with Education Unboxed. She likes to work ALL PROBLEMS (even the easy easy ones) with C-rods so that's good I guess. She's just not math-minded. She much prefers a formula to memorize and just do that. I am trying to avoid that. That is how I learned math and it did not serve me well. :glare: I'm wondering, since it's free & I like Reception, if I should try some MEP? (I don't want her to get behind. I feel like we haven't progressed for some time.) I hear it's teacher intensive... I haven't noticed that with Reception. Does it get more teacher intensive as you progress? Are people referring to the printing and getting the books together? I don't want too much more work for myself, so I am curious about that. Thank you for any suggestions you may have for me!

ETA: If we did try to use MEP where should we start? Many of the concepts in the year 1 books seem to be much too easy... But maybe that wouldn't hurt us right now... ??

Whether or not MEP is teacher intensive depends on your point of view.

You have to teach the lesson. The lessons are in the lesson plan, the practice sheets are mostly reinforcement of the lesson. The program was written for a classroom, you will need to adapt some lessons for a single child. There is a learning curve for both you and your student.

If you want to be able to hand the practice sheet to the child and walk away, MEP is not for your family. If you plan to sit and work with your child, it is no more intensive than any other parent taught method.