Menu

I'm new to homeschooling, the pressure and worry is killing me

I guess the title says it all. I'm making myself sick with worry that my Ds, 13, will fall behind this year. I haven't homeschooled before and this may be our only year before I send him back to school, most likely private school.

Every night I lay awake wondering if I'm doing enough. I read about all the amazing things people are doing here with their kids and I know we aren't doing as much. I am trying to fill some PS gaps, so he doesn't have a great base to build on so I try not to beat myself up too much. But still.....

How can I be sure he's learning enough? I'm doing WWS. It's difficult for both of us. He's doing well in Derek Owens Alg 1. We are studying biology, world history and vocabulary/word roots. He'll read The Oyssey, Hamlet, To Kill a Mockingbird and The Hobbit. But we aren't doing much else lit wise. We aren't doing grammar, poetry, critical thinking and things like that.

Is there a test I can give him now and give him at the end of the year to see his improvement? Or a test I can give him at the end of the year to make sure he's where he should be?

Breathe. It sounds like you've got a good plan, you're a concerned parent, he sounds like a bright kid. Many schools just aren't that impressive these days and odds are you'll do as well or better than they would have. And if there are some "gaps" if and when you send him back to school, so what? They'll bring him up to speed. Don't beat yourself up, do your best, enjoy the experience, remember that curricula isn't the be all end all to education and learning, and I'm sure everything will be fine. Keep reading positive stuff about homeschooling too, it helps settle the nerves lol. I know pulling a kid out of school can be a bit nerve-wracking and my daughter was only in 3rd grade. But I haven't looked back! :)

:grouphug:

Sounds as though you have a good plan. :). We all worry. We all have kids in different places. You can do it.