Menu

Does this book exist? Catholicism for Tourists

I'm traveling to Florence for a week in April, and I'd like to read something that will enhance my appreciation for and understanding of the cathedrals we will be visiting in Tuscany. Any suggestions?

I was Mormon until I was 30, and I've attended a mix of UU and UCC churches since then, so I have a very Low Church background. I like attending Episcopalian church services when I travel in the US or the UK, so I have some experience with High Church ritual, but I don't really understand the services fully.

I am definitely, absolutely not looking to convert. But I would like to understand better than I do now. Any book suggestions? :bigear:

If you are primarily looking for something that talks about the services and how to behave as a visitor in one, try "How to be a Perfect Stranger: the essential religious etiquette handbook" by Matlins.

http://books.google.com/books/about/How_to_Be_a_Perfect_Stranger.html?id=3vDI7YSzQEQC

If you are currently attending a UU or UCC church, you might check to see if the church has a copy you can borrow. I think our RE director has a copy in her library.

There are both Dummies and Idiot's Guides. You'll mainly want to know the major saints and their symbols, the scenes in the life of the Virgin that are frequently painted and the basic Bible stories to understand the art. If you plan to go to Mass, don't worry about it, just do what everyone else does. You won't be at a significant disadvantage to most of the tourist Catholics there because they won't understand the words and some parts of the sit/stand/kneel are different. Watch out for anybody recruiting volunteers or you might end up an altarboy like Spycar!

Have a great trip!

ETA: The only big no-no is going to Communion unless you are a practicing Catholic with no mortal sins to confess.