Menu

Romans 5 Bible Study Questions (CC, obviously!)

I am part of a men's Bible Study group that meets weekly, and this week I am in charge of leading the study. We are studying through Romans, at a chapter per week. Every week we are emailed 4-6 questions to answer when we read through that week's questions. I have written my questions, and am curious as to the various answers I would get from other people. This is my first time ever leading a group Bible study, so I am frankly a little nervous (I will be teaching it on Monday night, if you want to offer a special prayer for me ;)). But please, I am very interested in any constructive criticism you have to offer (it is nearly impossible to offend me, so be blunt if they are terrible questions!)

Anyway, I thought I would share the questions I came up with here, and see if anyone was interested in reading through Romans 5 a couple times and answering them. I had a lot more questions I wanted to go more in depth on, especially the latter part of the chapter.

Romans Chapter 5

1. What is the main point or reason for chapter 5?

2. According to verses 1 and 2, what is the result of our justification by faith?

3. What is the benefit of the tribulations we face as believers?

4. What is it we are saved from? Why is this salvation necessary? (Verses 9-10)

5. Romans 5:14 refers to: “…Adam, who was a type of the one who was to come†(ESV), “…Adam’s transgression. He is a prototype of the Coming One.†(HCSB), “…Now Adam is a symbol, a representation of Christ, who was yet to come†(NLT), “…Adam, who was a pattern of the one to come†(NIV), “…Adam, who is a type of Him who was to come†(NASB).

What is the significance of referring to the coming Messiah this way (as opposed to referring to Christ by name)? What does Paul mean when he says Adam is a type, symbol, or pattern?

6. What is the parallel that is drawn between Adam and Christ in verses 12, 18-19?