Menu

Central Auditory Processing Disorder questions

DiannePf

When someone, stranger or otherwise, asks your CAPD child a question and he has no response and stares at the person, what do you do?

Do you ignore the question or get your childs attention and re-ask the question in a louder more clear format? (which may cause the child embarassment, and many times for me he will just stare then at me w/o answering the question alltogether)

I'm asking this because we have some family parties soon and I know many questions will be asked to him.

Thanks! Dianne

I think it would be more polite to re-phrase the question than ignore it, but I would not increase the volume. I'm not an expert on CAPD, but my understanding is that making it louder could make it worse because it's not a hearing problem but a processing problem. KWIM? My dd with CAPD-like symptoms can short-circuit when the volume is increased when she's already frustrated by not "getting it." With other, similar disorders I've read that lower volume is sometimes better.

The party environment will be especially tough because the background noise. There's also a general discomfort factor to take into account since nervousness seems to make processing worsen, at least in our house.

I don't know how old your dc is, but could you talk to him/her and ask what would be most helpful or least embarrassing to them, while still being polite?

I think it would be more polite to re-phrase the question than ignore it, but I would not increase the volume. I'm not an expert on CAPD, but my understanding is that making it louder could make it worse because it's not a hearing problem but a processing problem. KWIM? My dd with CAPD-like symptoms can short-circuit when the volume is increased when she's already frustrated by not "getting it." With other, similar disorders I've read that lower volume is sometimes better.