Menu

Not sure what to do...

threeofakind

Sorry this is long and thank you so much who actually read it all and understand what I'm trying to say!

I am really confused and not sure what my next step should be. I have a nine yr old son- 3rd grade. He has been in ps and this is our first yr. hs. He has been the type of kid who is up and down and you never really know if he will get it and eventually does. I was a teacher and he was at my school so I always knew what was going on. He 'struggled' with reading and math- but personally I never worried too much because he was a boy and we don't always provide boys what they need in schools. I would help at home but I realized he was tired and just wanted to be a boy after school. So I asked and was approved to pull him out an hour early and work with him (I was pt and was done by then). He loved it- this was first grade.

That's what got me thinking about hs. 2nd grade came and he had a great teacher who did science and lots of hands on stuff- he so enjoyed this- but reading and math were a hit and miss again. Eventually he got there and met the minimum. Overall I was okay if he did not meet the standard- all kids are different and he thrives in other things- building things, sports, etc.