Menu

Easier to organize Science...

Lots of boys

I am very new to all of this - just bought all my curriculum and will start next month with my three boys. I looked at a lot of science and finally decided on REAL Science Odyssey (Life) for next year. I got it the other day and although I really like the content I am overwhelmed with the prep for materials etc. for all the labs. Can anyone either reassure me about this program or give me advice on another good science curriculum for a 5 and 7 year old. They LOVE science stuff - love, love, love when I read them non-fiction books about anything nature/animals etc. I really want to include a science curriculum but worry that RSO may just get the better of me. :tongue_smilie:

Any suggestions. We prefer a very secular approach to science.

Thanks,

Angela

BJU has an absolutely terrific science curriculum for each grade, but you could combine your children with no problems. Tons of hands on science that does not require much prep. I am using the 2nd grade this year for dd and adding in readings from the library for the different topics covered.

As for organizing science, take a few weeks at a time and collect what you need. If the items needed are perishable, make a note in your teacher's pages a day or 2 before the item is needed. I break my planning into 25 lessons. I keep everything in a box and have tagged the items with post-its letting me know what lesson the item is for or if I need to keep it for later lessons. Get any copies made in advance also.

I contemplated RSO but decided on BFSU. I do hear lots of great things about both. In a perfect world I would have the time and money to combine the two and use the premade labs with BFSU.

Angela over at Satori Smiles uses RSO and does some really great photo blogs on her activities.