Menu

Philosophy Curriculum

Guest mamaof2d

Guest mamaof2d

Is anyone using a particular philosophy curriculum which is not bible-based? We have been reading some of the 'great works' to cover this. I have put together a somewhat eclectic format of different curricula including a good lot of the Classical Style book list. I just don't know if I am covering Philosophy in the best way. I am curious if anyone is using an actual curriculum model specifically designed for teaching philosophy to grade school aged children?

~mamaof2d

RS4K, SM, SOTW, WWE, LTK, Dance Pad Typing, Piano Lessons, Martial Arts, Various Arts & Crafts, Astronomy Club

I majored in philosophy in college and one of the high points of my schooling was a summer spent at Montclair State University studying Philosophy for Children. The school has an entire department devoted to this: the Institute for Advancement of Philosophy for Children (IAPC). The IAPC has developed wonderful curricula for introducing children to philosophical inquiry. It is designed for classroom use but I have been using it in our homeschool and it's worked very well.

The IAPC website has lots of great info, and you can order the textbooks and teacher's manuals from the site as well (you have to print the order form and mail it in.) I've also found some of the books secondhand on Amazon. I recommend their teacher's guide titled "Philosophy for Children Practitioners Handbook." This was a textbook in one of my college courses and I have found it to be super helpful when it comes to teaching my kids.

The website is http://cehs.montclair.edu/academic/iapc/

Cheers, Kathleen