Menu

Question about multi-level use of TOG

MominIN

I am a Sonlight user and I love it, but as I look to the future I am looking at doing 3 or 4 cores at a time. I see everyone recommending TOG for large families and I sincerely don't understand. If I am using completely different books for each of the 3 or 4 levels, how is that any different than using three or four cores? How does it make it easier for large families? Please help me understand! Thanks!

Yes.

But, I guess I don't understand what the benefit of studying the same time period is, if they are still doing completely different work. How does studying the same time period help me? I'm sure there's a simple answer, but I truly do not understand how it's any easier on the teacher.

It's certainly doable to use as many cores as you have children, that's how most subjects approached. It's more about making my life easier, as a teacher I think it helps to be focused on one time period. Students are not usually doing completely different work. This week we are all studying the Persians. My multi-level children will sometimes sit in on read alouds and discussions pertaining to another level which helps their understanding. They can go to each other with questions. Then there's field trips, projects, movies, etc.

It's certainly doable to use as many cores as you have children, that's how most subjects approached. It's more about making my life easier, as a teacher I think it helps to be focused on one time period. Students are not usually doing completely different work. This week we are all studying the Persians. My multi-level children will sometimes sit in on read alouds and discussions pertaining to another level which helps their understanding. They can go to each other with questions. Then there's field trips, projects, movies, etc.