Menu

i want to quit!

I am new to homeschooling and I am ready to give it up. DS is 11 with something going on... not sure what (possibly ADD). He can focus on anything except for school work. This is driving me crazy!! I mean crazy!! We have been trying to get one page done for 2 hours. I unfortunately lost my temper and sent him to his room. Does this stuff every get better?. We were on focalin xr for 3 days and he had dizziness and nausea for the entire time. I have put a call in to the Dr. I just want to send him back to school and forget this. I really do know that is probably not a good option, but it sure does feel good to think about it. How he managed to fly under the radar with this throughout the entire school year I will never know. I am just tired and very frustrated with life right now.

Oh, my dear!

:grouphug:

I want to encourage you to press on. Get the medication issue resolved and get the diagnosis of what is going on with this child. It is completely frustrating that this has gone unrecognized and untreated for so long. But the buck stops with you. No one loves and cares enough about your child to be tough and tenacious as long as it takes to get him the help he needs. He needs you to be that one, Mom!

Can you try a different approach to school while you are figuring these things out? Worksheets can be the worst! Maybe reading aloud together, playing math games with him, doing messy, fun experiments and taking field trips.

It could be that you can use this time of evaluation and adjustment to build your relationship.

I (and most all of the parents on this board) have felt just like this at many points in the journey. Stay the course. There are answers for you and wonderful days ahead for both of you.

Katie

More :grouphug: