Menu

Guest conmalcam

Guest conmalcam

I am new to all of this. I am planning on starting homeschooling next school year (2011-12). My children are older, 9 & 10. My youngest is going to be 2. My older 2 will be 5th and 6th grade when I start. I am really interested in knowing if any families use the Abeka full curriculum, using the videos and books together. I know alot of families use part of this one, but I would like to use it as a whole. Another one I am interested in is My Father's World, as a whole. Please give any feedback that is helpful, neg. or pos., so I can weigh my options. Thanks so much in advance :001_smile: God Bless

Edited by conmalcam

Well I don't know your reasoning and what all is going on, but I have to tell you that homeschooling with a newly *1* year old is WAY more easy than homeschooling with a *2* year old. I'd pull them out now and get started. You're going to have a learning curve, so you might as well jump in. :)

Next, every single curriculum out there has adherents and people it fits. Nobody can say whether it will fit your situation or not. I will say though that things have changed a LOT from the days when your only options, for a mom needing help, were Abeka video school. I mean of ALL the options I can think out there, that would be the lowest, the least exciting on the list. Not that you can't use it here or there, but just realize you have a LOT of affordable, really good options now.

If you want fully planned out but easy to implement, have you looked at the Veritas Press Scholars program? They have online courses (self-paced) for their history that are FABULOUS, just fabulous. Anything they sell pretty much is terrific.