Menu

School starts in a week, I'm in full panic mode

This is my first year homeschooling. School starts in one week. One dd, a jr. in high school. The books are lined up, the curricula are generated in big ole binders, the school supply lists have been made. Any words of wisdom from those of you that have been homeschooling for a long time, particularly those that have done these two critical final years of high school??? Half of me says I'm totally bonkers to be doing this. The other half says this may be the coolest thing ever! This forum has been the best resource I could wish for. Thanks to everyone!!!!

That's the first thing. Take a deep breath and relax.

I haven't done the last 2 years of high school yet. My oldest is in 10th this year. But I did bring them home from a brick and mortar school. Have a plan. Just take one day at a time. Remember to breathe!

Today is our first day this year. I'm trying to figure out what I've forgotten to do. I figured it out - copy their assignment sheets! I haven't ordered lab stuff yet either, but I have time on that one as we never start science the experiments the first week.

Don't panic! I love junior and senior years with my teens! It's when they start to grow up and have their own ambitions and start taking charge of what direction they want their live to go in. You can have some wonderful, illuminating discussions with them on matters of literature, philosophy, politics, religion. You can learn from them and their fresh take on things. It is an absolutely wonderful time to homeschool. You are brilliant and courageous to want to do it! Bon Voyage! It's a deeply rewarding journey!