Menu

Let's Play Possible Questions . . .

Okay - first interview in a LONG time for a part time position that relates directly to part of what I used to do a LONG time ago. Resume complete and up-to-date. What kinds of questions do you think I ought to expect? Experience-based (they have that in the paperwork)? More philosophical-type questions (how would you handle this or that situation)? Something else?

(My background is library - both public and technical services; position is in public library. Am a patron there so already "known" in that regard. Also, due to some circumstances [nothing bad - e.g., homeschooler and previous group leader, mom to cancer survivor, etc.] am possibly "known" by more people than I realize . . . so reputation may precede me . . .)

As an aside, I am quite at peace about this - whether I get the job or not, so I do not feel nervous, etc., about the interview.

So what possible questions does the Hive think I should be prepared for?

TIA!

Wow! These are great questions! After reading the first person's response - especially what do you have to offer - I walked away from the computer and thought and thought on that one question while I did some ironing. I think I finally have an acceptable, truthful answer that suits me . . .

Why do you want to re-enter the work force - I have good working ideas on this one. And I can answer whether I plan to stay awhile.

Greatest weakness. Hmmm. Related to outside employment, I think I have an answer. In general, we just won't go there as I fear the list would be endless!

Greatest strength. Again, related to this job, I can think of two things, but one sounds dopey to me and the other is no longer time-tested . . .

Where I see myself in five years - I have ideas of what I wish to have accomplished or be in-process of accomplishing but not sure it would fly as it's not completely relevant to this position.