Menu

Where does one go to find used Chalkdust Calculus?

I've been hunting around to see if I can pick one of these up used since the new prices are rather steep, but I've been unable to locate any. Is there a reason for this that I don't know about? Or is it just that so few people use it? I'm new to CD, so this is an honest question...

Thanks for your thoughts. If he were to take it at cc here it would cost us $600 - not to mention - I've heard some not so good things about the profs (as in talent for teaching). I guess I'll keep looking, then possibly shell out the $$ for new knowing I've got another son two years behind that will also need it soon.

In my experience, kids that have seen Calc in high school, then done it in college (ie NOT tested to place out of it) do well with their transition. Kids that place out of it sometimes get overwhelmed with 2nd semester Calc and adjusting to college at the same time. Kids that never see it ahead of time tend to do the worst (not always, but in general). This is not an official poll, but just years of hearing anecdotes as kids have returned home from college to tell us of their experiences. So... we want ours to see it and do it, then do it over in college (unless, maybe, if it comes super easy to him as all other math has).

I agree with the woman who posted before. I don't think you see it for sale used as much as the other levels because not as many tackle it at home or don't go that far in math.

Our ds used CD Calculus I at home with the dvds and tech support. He thought it was great. Our dd went through precal and didn't get as far as cal. I sold our CD calculus earlier this year on this board, so there are some sets out there to be found.