Menu

New and need advice...PLEASE!!

I think I may have posted this in the wrong area previously, so here I go again. I am debating using MFW (Adventures), WP(American Story), HOD(Beyond or Bigger), and TOG. My dd7 is an avid reader!! Even when we go outside she likes to take a book to read while swinging on her swing. Her comprehension is probably 4th grade. She loves to do hands on activities as well, but I want to make sure I'm working on her comprehension and narrating skills. My concern with looking over these is that I am not good at coming up with my own open ended questions and would like for the curriculum I choose to help me out. I already have Saxon Math and Easy Grammar that she enjoys, so no need to have those incorporated in, but if they are it is no big deal. My dh and I have agreed that we would like to teach American History before World History and that we do not want Bible to be forced into every subject, we do want a Christian view, just don't make my dd hate Christ if she starts to hate school (not sure that makes sense, but I need to give you as much as I can so I can get some of your awesome advice I've seen handed out here on this forum). Thanks in advance for any advice you can give me!!!!

Anxiously waiting to hear from you!!!!

P.S. I am going to a used curriculum sale today and would really like some advice before I go. Thanks!:)

I bought MFW Adventures to use this year with my dd who will be 9yo (3rd) this coming fall. I have looked over it pretty extensively and taking from points in your post, here's what I think you'll like about it

a)your dd is a reader...MFW has a wonderful list in the back of the book, divided by weeks, for Book Basket time. This means you fill up a basket with books that correspond to the history/art/science/music and let her have at them for extra reading.