Menu

Breadmakers...I need your help!

I've been grinding wheat and making bread for about 2 years now. My DH recently purchased a Bosch mixer for me so that I don't have to hand knead anymore. Since I've had the mixer, my bread has not turned out right. It's usually very flat (doesn't rise above the bread pan when it's done cooking) and/or dense and crumbly.

Here are some of the things I've tried:

Use dough enhancer

Don't use dough enhancer

Add more flour

Add less flour

Let the dough rise on the counter

Put the dough in a slightly warm oven to rise

Cooking it until it reaches 200 degrees

Cooking it until it reaches 190 degrees

Cooking it until it reaches 180 degrees

Does anyone have anything else for me to try? I'm ready to quit making bread and just buying it at the store. Of course, I'll have a very expensive, brand new mixer sitting on my counter staring at me and making me feel even more guilty...

Thanks!

I've been grinding wheat and making bread for about 2 years now. My DH recently purchased a Bosch mixer for me so that I don't have to hand knead anymore. Since I've had the mixer, my bread has not turned out right. It's usually very flat (doesn't rise above the bread pan when it's done cooking) and/or dense and crumbly.

Here are some of the things I've tried:

Use dough enhancer

Don't use dough enhancer

Add more flour

Add less flour

Let the dough rise on the counter

Put the dough in a slightly warm oven to rise

Cooking it until it reaches 200 degrees

Cooking it until it reaches 190 degrees

Cooking it until it reaches 180 degrees

Does anyone have anything else for me to try? I'm ready to quit making bread and just buying it at the store. Of course, I'll have a very expensive, brand new mixer sitting on my counter staring at me and making me feel even more guilty...

Thanks!