Menu

Singapore or something different?

KBadd

My son is in 1st grade this year. He did Singapore Early Bird Math in K and is doing Singapore 1a US edition now.

He really likes math - he never complains about it, gets the concepts quickly, and will happily work on it for quite a while. BUT...

He has 2 younger brothers, ages 4 and 2, and I'm pregnant. (The 4yo is also doing Early Bird and loving it.) I'm not loving how Singapore is organized. I'm a big planner/organizer, and I think it's not quite check-the-box enough for me. And I haven't been utilizing the HIG like I know I should. I'm comfortable teaching math - I earned my degree in accounting so I love numbers :) I've just basically been glancing at the HIG and then explaining it my own way. I guess because of where our family is at I'd prefer something more straightforward to teach and as open-and-go as I can get.

So... What other options should I look at? Or is Singapore so awesome I should just schedule it out better and implement the HIG concepts and games and such? Any advice on how to do that?

Thanks

Math Mammoth is Asian-style math like Singapore but open-and-go, in a work-text format (textbook and workbook in one, no teacher guide because the teaching is on the page).  It is flexible in that you can decide as you go along how many problems your student needs in a given lesson.

As far as "straightforward" and teaching your own way, my caution would be to be careful not to skip directly to the algorithm, the "how" (procedure), until the "why" (concept) is understood.  I haven't used Singapore much but for example in Math Mammoth, the teaching of the concept that ultimately leads up to the algorithm is important.  I found it easy to compact (on the fly) that concept teaching in MM for a student who understands quickly, but I'd be reluctant to skip it entirely.