Menu

Moira in MA ~ I was wondering how French is going for your daughter.

I'm glad to hear that it's going well, Moira.

I have to admit that I read about a book, The Philosopher's Demise: Learning to Speak French by Richard Watson that reminded me of your daughter and her desire to speak French. I have no personal knowledge of the book, but it certainly sounds intriguing.

From the Amazon page linked above: "Already an accomplished reader of French, Watson found himself forced to learn to speak the language when he was invited to present a paper in Paris in French. A private crash course and lessons at the Alliance Française only served to point out how difficult it can be to learn any foreign language, especially later in life. As he confronts his own national prejudices, Watson weaves in digressions on the contrasts between France and America, on the mysteries of French engineering, and on eccentric French cavers. This wry, witty book is not just for anyone who has ever tried to learn another language, but for anyone who has yearned desperately to learn something and worked to the limit to achieve it."

A book I did read and enjoy that also pertains in part to the subject of learning French is Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris. (Note: This book contains adult language and situations.)

From the Amazon page linked above: "...Sedaris also writes here about the time he spent in France and the difficulty of learning another language. After several extended stays in a little Norman village and in Paris, Sedaris had progressed, he observes, "from speaking like an evil baby to speaking like a hillbilly. 'Is thems the thoughts of cows?' I'd ask the butcher, pointing to the calves' brains displayed in the front window.""

Regards,

Kareni

I think that one of the reasons that it seems so hard to attain fluency as an adult is that your level of discussion is so much higher.