Menu

Would CW Homer A/Beginning Poetry AND LLATL Purple be too much?

Tree House Academy

I really like CW Homer and I want to do it in conjunction with Beginning Poetry as well. However, I also like LLATL - particularly the book study sections, but also speech writing and so on. Do you think I can make this work (I have an English degree and I am definitely not afraid to cut anything that is repetitive or overload for him) or is it just going to be too much?

My son is a struggling writer and we are not starting CW until we finish WT II later this year. He has come a long way and has a long way to go.

Well is there time in your day for that? Homer takes longer per day than WT2, at least it will for us. I've been pouring over it, working on our schedule for January, and I finally realized that it just wasn't going to work to do the BJU Reading on top of CW Homer on top of history notebooking and other writing. Not at this age (9). The skills in Homer are accessible, but there's a limit on how much work the kids can do, kwim? So I'm thinking we finish the BJU Reading, finish the Wordsmith Apprentice we started, then move into CW Homer.

I don't know, maybe that's overly cautious. However I do see you're doing multiple spelling programs, meaning you're already spending a lot of time on LA using the other things you're doing. Would increasing that time take it over the top and make it too much? That's how you could decide. It was when I sat down with my schedule and got to the nitty gritty that I finally saw this.

BTW, since you said he's a struggling writer, have you looked at WA? My dd REALLY likes it. It's a good transition from WT2. About the same level conceptually, but moving forward into non-fiction, very high interest level, whitty.

Edited by OhElizabeth