Menu

Too many writing choices

I'm having trouble making decisions about my 8th grader in writing. My goals this year are:

-have a solid understanding of how to write an essay

-do some kind of creative writing/poetry that he will enjoy 

I'm a decent writer-received all A's in highschool/college but I really don't enjoy it and struggle to teach it (aka, I need a guide). I have Creative Writer 2 and The Lively Art of Teaching Writing. I think both would meet my goals. But, HOW do I fit them in?? I found a suggested schedule for LAW that makes it a year long curriculum, and, likewise, CW is a year long. I keep looking at things and thinking, how can I squeeze them both in. Any thoughts/advice for me? Should I save LAW for next year? And if so, how do I fit it in to highschool?

2 fast, off-the-top-of-my head ideas:

Idea #1
• essay writing
-- save LAoW for 9th, and outsource with Lantern English for 8th
- do 3-4 of the 8-week Essay Writing series (so, a total of 24-32 weeks)
- class choices: Essay Basics; Essay Basics Practice; Growing the Essay I; Growing the Essay II; Growing the Essay Fast Track; Growing the Essay Practice
• poetry writing
- do Creative Writer 2 in the weeks ou are not doing Lantern classes (so, a total of 4-12 weeks); finish CW2 in 9th grade
- or, do CW2 in the summers, just for fun on his own time, out of his own interest

Idea #2
8th grade fall semester = do half -- or however much of Lively Art of Writing works for you both, then stop
8th grade spring semester = do half -- or however much of Creative Writer 2 as is enjoyable for DS
9th grade fall semester = finish the Lively Art of Writing
9th grade spring semester = finish Creative Writer 2

2 hours ago, LauraClark said:

...my 8th grader in writing. My goals this year are:
-have a solid understanding of how to write an essay
-do some kind of creative writing/poetry that he will enjoy 

Good planning -- those are solid and realistic goals.