Menu

Inclusive English program

Faddu01

Hi everyone! So happy I found this forum. I am looking for a secular all inclusive curriculum for English, language, and grammar. This is my first time homeschooling and I don’t want to overwhelm myself or my daughter with so many different worksheets! I have no teaching background so I need something simple and easy. I like BJU press because it’s an all in one but would rather have something secular. Thanks!

2 hours ago, Faddu01 said:

Sorry I forgot to mention she is 7 and in 2nd grade. She went to a Montessori school from age 4-6. Transitioning to homeschool this year. She can read pretty well but has trouble spelling some words. 

Hmmm... 2nd grade is pretty young for Grammar and Writing. Many people don't start either until 3rd grade, unless the student is really wanting to write stuff. And in that case, at the 2nd grade level, it can be very much student-led as far as what kinds of writing projects the student wants to do...

Along those lines, for your English/Language Arts this year, you could just cover Spelling, Phonics (in support of Spelling, and Handwriting (Penmanship). Or, you could do "Copywork", which is a method of doubling up the handwriting practice with then informally discussing a few Grammar and Writing points that are in the short passage that is used for the Copywork.

Or, you might look at Royal Fireworks Press' Aesop's Fables (secular) -- 4 short volumes for grades 2-4. You might shoot for doing volumes 1 and 2 this year, and volumes 3 and 4 next year. Here's the Cathy Duffy review. Aesop's Fables covers grammar and writing together.

In another year or so, I'd highly recommend Treasured Conversations, now called Teaching Through Guided Analysis, by a Christian author but written secularly. It was actually created by long-time WTM boardee, 8FillTheHeart. 😍 It is for grades 3-5, and covers Grammar and Writing.