Menu

Early Hiragana readers?

Slache

Pricey, but: Japanese Graded Readers from White Rabbit Press. They come with audio recordings, and also iPad versions if you happen to have an iPad (I don't). Even the Level 0 ones use kanji, but always with furigana.

I'm a Japanese teacher. These ones seem to be the only game in town for the very early levels! It would be nice if there were more options out there so the price on these ones would drop a bit. I don't usually make my students purchase them, because they're just so darn expensive. They're excellent though. Nicely limited in scope so as to be right in the Zone of Proximal Development and not overwhelming.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, egao_gakari said:

Pricey, but: Japanese Graded Readers from White Rabbit Press. They come with audio recordings, and also iPad versions if you happen to have an iPad (I don't). Even the Level 0 ones use kanji, but always with furigana.

I'm a Japanese teacher. These ones seem to be the only game in town for the very early levels! It would be nice if there were more options out there so the price on these ones would drop a bit. I don't usually make my students purchase them, because they're just so darn expensive. They're excellent though. Nicely limited in scope so as to be right in the Zone of Proximal Development and not overwhelming.

This was my plan, but holy price gouging Batman!

And I want this for later: https://www.amazon.com/Treasury-Japanese-Folktales-Bilingual-English-ebook/dp/B00HXY97EQ

• Like 1

On 4/19/2018 at 6:44 AM, egao_gakari said:

I've decided to get the ridiculously expensive readers but as gifts, not curriculum because he loves Japanese and will lose his mind over them. How long should each set last for a beginner?

• Like 1

2 hours ago, Slache said:

I've decided to get the ridiculously expensive readers but as gifts, not curriculum because he loves Japanese and will lose his mind over them. How long should each set last for a beginner?