Menu

MBTP: Prek or K?

ItoLina

I am asking this for a friend. She wants to use MBTP and is unsure weather to get the prek or k curriculum. I have no experience with it so I told her I would post here.

Her son will be 5 in December. He is pretty bright for his age I think. He reads cvc words and two consinent blends, maybe even other things I am not totally sure. I told her from what I have seen here she probably will want to do some phonics and math in addition to MBTP?

Her main question is weather to get the prek or k. Is the prek pretty easy? Or Challenging? Would the K level be too hard for him since he will still be 4 for a while?

Thanks!

I think she should determine where he is with the skills needed for the 5-7 year old section before deciding. By preK version I presume you mean Peak with Books which is actually fine for kindergarten too and is being used by quite a few people here. If she wants to go with the 5-7 curriculum then she could always buy a unit and try it out and see how it goes and go on with Peak with Books if it doesn't work out. I would be a bit wary moving ahead if he cannot write as there are a lot of worksheets - it might be better then to work on his handwriting first.

I think she should determine where he is with the skills needed for the 5-7 year old section before deciding. By preK version I presume you mean Peak with Books which is actually fine for kindergarten too and is being used by quite a few people here. If she wants to go with the 5-7 curriculum then she could always buy a unit and try it out and see how it goes and go on with Peak with Books if it doesn't work out. I would be a bit wary moving ahead if he cannot write as there are a lot of worksheets - it might be better then to work on his handwriting first.

Sorry, I did mean Peak With Books vs the 5-7 year old curriculum (I am not very familiar with MBTP myself).