Menu

Can you stand another ACT question? How much do the scores improve over time?

Ds is a homeschooled sophomore, but would be a freshman if we'd gone by public school cut-off dates. How much is his score next year likely to improve from his score this year?

He's done his second practice test and brought up his average score 5 points. His score is decent, but not what he needs for the college he has his eye on. I'm just wondering what difference another year under the belt makes since this is an achievement test.

I have no actual experience on this, as this is my oldest daughter's first time with taking the test, and she's doing it without the essay portion.

However, I was told by a guidance counselor at our local public school that they have found that students' scores improve quite a bit on the math portion of the ACT and PSAT after they've taken Algebra II and Trig. She told me that even if the student struggles in those classes, sometimes even getting a C, they still tend to perform quite a bit better after tackling that math.

I've noticed in The Real ACT Prep Guide that we're using that the math portion of the test is subdivided into three major parts: pre-algebra/elementary algebra (EA on the scaled score); intermediate algebra/coordinate geometry (AG on the scaled score); and plane geometry/trigonometry (GT on the scaled score). There are 60 points possible in the math portion, with approximately 24 devoted to algebra (which most students would complete by 9th grade), 18 questions devoted to intermediate algebra/trig. (which most students would complete by 10th-11th grade), and 18 questions devoted to plane geometry/trig. (again, probably by 11th grade). So, I would think a student coming out of 11th grade and tackling that test that following summer or in the fall of their senior year would have an excellent chance of improving that portion of their test.

• 3 weeks later...