Menu

Science for 2nd and 4th grader.

mazakaal

I've been using Apologia elementary series for the past several years. I had originally tried WTM suggestions and some other bits and pieces when my oldest two were younger, but everything seemed to flop until we found Apologia. The boys did pretty well with it, but I tended to steer away from the activities and experiments and did mostly reading and notebooking. It was fine - not spectacular, but it got the job done without too much complaining. My younger two don't seem to like it as much, though.

So what would you suggest for a 2nd and 4th grader (thinking about next year). Dd did Astronomy last year and both are doing Botany this year, so I don't want to cover those topics again right away, but I'm pretty open to just about anything else. I'd like something that's all put together and even comes with all the bits and pieces I'd need for experiments, etc. Something colorful and fun. I'm a Christian, but the program doesn't have to be overtly Christian. But I also don't want something that is evolution-based, so secular physics or chemistry - fine, but probably not secular life science.

Does what I'm looking for even exist?

You can get Noeo with almost all the bits and pieces there; the rest are things most people have in their homes anyway. We started the Chem program one year. It was too Charlotte Masony for the dd I was doing it with, but I bought it because I wanted something with everything.

After that we used RS4K, which was a much better fit for this dd. It doesn't come with all the bits and pieces, but they are mainly things you have at home. Chem is the best of this series. There are only 10 chapters, but you can expand if you add the KOGS and the library.

We used RS4K pre level chem here and liked it. We are soon going to start Chem 1. I just don't like that it is only 10 chapters and I don't love having to gather the supplies (although it wasn't as bad as other programs we used).