Menu

s/o Testing in Virginia

MariannNOVA

I have not tested at home before -- the kids have taken the SAT in school as this is our first full year of homeschooling

(I put the twins in public school prior to 'testing season' when they were in first grade, and they were tested there). I did administer tests (SAT) as an elementary school classroom teacher and proctored tests (SAT) as a parent volunteer.

Are parents allowed to select the 'test' their children take? (ITBS, SAT, or something else?)

I have two third graders and a fifth grader: will I be able to test them all at home? I have a college degree and I have read the other thread regarding proof of a degree, etc, and I am prepared to do that.

Thanks, and now I am off to read the VA-homeschoolers link to look for testing info there as well.

Mariann

Yes, absolutely, you can test your children at home, and you select the test.

To use the ITBS, you generally have to meet the standards of the test supplier, which includes a college degree. We used the CAT last year, and are planning to use the ITBS this year.

I have not tested at home before -- the kids have taken the SAT in school as this is our first full year of homeschooling

(I put the twins in public school prior to 'testing season' when they were in first grade, and they were tested there). I did administer tests (SAT) as an elementary school classroom teacher and proctored tests (SAT) as a parent volunteer.

Are parents allowed to select the 'test' their children take? (ITBS, SAT, or something else?)

I have two third graders and a fifth grader: will I be able to test them all at home? I have a college degree and I have read the other thread regarding proof of a degree, etc, and I am prepared to do that.

Thanks, and now I am off to read the VA-homeschoolers link to look for testing info there as well.

Mariann