Menu

15 yrs old

15 yrs old son with minor learning disability is in 8th grade PS school. He doesn't receive any services.

He wants to get our of school midyear (tomorrow) and be homeschooled again.

I homeschooled him till he was tens yr.

I placed him in school because I was a single working student mom.

He spent several years in school then i think 1st year of 6th grade he did independent study while I continued with nursing school as his father was in a severe biking accident and couldn't care for him or take him to school.

He is NOT doing well in school and wants to be homeschooled. He has always not been into academics and fought me a lot when homeschooling.

My ex says he is just trying to run away from his problems and also he is not willing to help fund for the homeschooling books/supplies.

My son does however want to go to a Christian High School but due to our finances I don;t see that as a possibility.

He says the Public school undermines his Christian beliefs.

Here is my current situation: I am a remarried woman with now 7 kids. My youngest is 5 months old. My oldest is my son and I have five girls in the middle who will be still attending school.

I don;t know what to do.

I need some advice....

Have you two sat down and put the plusses and minuses of all the options on a sheet of paper?

There are many questions to be answered. For ex:

What is his plan for the last semester of Grade 8? How will going with his plan be an improvement over the current situation?

Does he meet the admissions standards for the Christian H.S.? Is he willing and able to do the work to stay off probation?

Is the student willing to work and fund some of his high school education with his earnings?

Frankly, if he's fighting acadaemics now, he's not likely to change without an epiphany. Working minimum wage can sometimes help change a lad's perspective.