Menu

How do you soak grains?

I'm just starting to learn about the whole soaking thing, so I'm no kind of expert. But I've got a local friend who's giving me pointers. She leaned me her book, Nourishing Traditions, which is interesting. Anyway, here's what I'm doing at this point.

1. Grind the wheat.

My grinder is small & cheap, and it doesn't grind very finely, so I don't always do all the flour the recipe needs. But whatever part I'm doing in wheat I grind.

2. Put it in a bowl with other dry ingredients, and add the water & any honey the recipe calls for. Also, I add about 1 T lemon juice for every cup of water. Mix it all up and cover tightly.

3. Ignore it over night.

My friend will also soak in milk, but she has raw milk & I use regular store bought milk, and I haven't figured out exactly what the practical difference is, so I'm still too chicken to try that. But the water is working pretty well. I did biscuits the other day that called for milk, but I was only doing part wheat, so I substituted some water for part of the milk. They turned out pretty tasty.

Good luck!

This was just want I needed! I can not thank you enough.

Just to give you a background, we have been grinding our own grain for 6 years. But now all of the sudden, I am having trouble digesting them. So, someone suggested that I soak the grains prior to cooking them.

But I just could figure out how....

NOW, I get it!

And I LOVED the article on the Bread of Idleness.....Awesome

Thanks again,

Brenda

P.S. Raw milk is great! We have used it for years too. Find a farmer that you trust, and you shouldn't have any trouble at all.