Menu

Please help me help DS with WWS.

DS11 has been working through WWS level 1, and has been doing well so far. His outlining ability is much improved, and his descriptions of narrative writing are getting better as well. However, we have reached week #14 and are having trouble with writing a scientific description. In week 14/day 4, he was given a list of facts about Mars and an excerpt description and told to write his own description. What he did was write down EVERY SINGLE FACT and try to form them into sentences. I don't know how to help him write this description. He did have trouble a couple of lessons ago doing the same type of lesson about volcanoes, so it is definitely a scientific description thing he's having trouble with. 

FWIW - I have read that I am supposed to "work through the book first", but I DO NOT have time to do that. Also, I'm no writing slouch - I have a couple of degrees and was ABD in my Ed.D. program. I just don't know how to TEACH this to him. We will spend as much time as we need to on this before moving on to the next lesson. 

Help, please? 

Has your son carefully read through the instructions for Day Four, Step 1? Have you read through the Instructor's Guide for that step?

In the student instructions, it specifically says, "You should not try to include details about every part of Mars; you can focus on the exterior, the interior, or a few select major features of both."

And then, in the Instructor Guide, it says, "You may need to help the student decide which parts to leave out of the description", and then gives more specific instructions about ways to do so.

My DS11 is on Week 33 of WWS. I've made the assumption that any time it tells me it is okay to help the student, that that must be a skill that will be spiraled back to in higher levels.