Menu

Writing Curriculum guidance for middle schooler

aeolianharp

Hi Everyone, I think I'm going to switch to homeschooling in Sept for my kids due to both coronavirus and my 6th grader being burnt out from school. He's a high achieving, advanced student in a top district that has always given out so much homework. He's burnt out. Transition to remote learning has made this worse because he became too anxious to do work and it piled up like crazy. It didn't take long for him to totally check out. We are hand holding him to slowly catch up. It's unlikely school will reopen in our area (NY Metro) so I'd much rather have him use homeschooling material made for learning at home rather than remote learning.

I'm looking for a writing curriculum that would fit his profile. On one hand, he's a strong student, received 5's on his PARCC exams in math, reading and writing. But, he's also a reluctant writer and he does not like creative writing, either. I'm a former teacher and prefer the workshop model approach, but would also like something similar to Common Core standards - with more concentration on non-fiction writing. I also don't want to follow DVDs, I'm happy to use material that's parent intensive. Some curricula that sound interesting from my initial research are Brave Writers, Writing with Skill, Writeshop I, Moving Beyond the Page, Lost Tools in Writing and Writing & Rhetoric. While I prefer less formulaic, I think he might need something a little more formulaic. I guess I'm hoping to find something *just* formulaic enough for a reluctant writer? And as mentioned, more non-fiction writing than creative and good for an advanced learner. I'm wondering if he should start with something that would provide him more tools to be comfortable as a writer before learning to hone his voice.

Sorry in advance for the long post.

This looks amazing, I definitely want to integrate this, though I'd also like to find a formal writing curriculum. Thank you!