Menu

Help...new to high school!

Hi everyone! A little background info...I've been homeschooling my 2 kids for 4 years now (they are 7 and 9) and absolutely love it. We've recently become foster parents and are in the process of adopting a 15 yr old girl. She also wants to be homeschooled but I'm clueless when it comes to high school curriculum :) Not only that, but I really don't know what kind of schooling and learning she does best with. She's done decent her freshmen year at the public school, but says she has a hard time focusing and has failed a couple classes. What I'm most worried about is grading her work. Not so much that I won't know how, but that there will be arguing if she isn't doing her work correctly or failing. I'd really like something that I don't have to grade and keep track of. At least for the first year, until I can see how self motivated she is (or isn't) and how well she does with homeschooling. Does anyone have any suggestions on what we can use?

In summary, I'm looking for something that will keep her on track, that I don't have to grade myself, and would prefer it to be Christian based.

Thanks so much!!!

:hurray: Congratulations on your new family member! Since you are all working on transitioning into the big life change of getting used to being a family together, you might want to devote more time to that, and transition by steps into homeschooling your soon-to-be adopted DD. There are several ways to do that:

- if school policies allow, continue with the public school for just 2 classes, and you oversee the others

(that allows your new DD to get used to you teaching / mentoring / overseeing / grading some of her work, but not all of it at one time)

- switch to a local "university-model" school

(3 days/week in a school setting, 2 days/week at home with you overseeing the work assigned at school, but taught and graded by the teachers)

- hire a local tutor to come in 2x/week