Menu

Struggling with Science

JenniferA

It may be because I'm over thinking this. But here it goes...

I've been reading some of the science topics on this forum and they have me second-guessing. We do Classical Conversations, and love it, and my plan for this year was to Apologia Anatomy at home. I already have it, so it's the easy way out. But I haven't felt completely at ease with that decision. With CC we have science experiments, which I don't like doing at home anyway, and memory work. I'm wondering if this is enough. Or how I can fulfill this without a textbook. I see very little retention with textbooks, and I like the idea of interest led investigations, but I am not good with experiments at home. All that to say, I'm trying to decide what I want science to do for the kids.

So my question to you is: What do you want to accomplish with science? And how do you want science to shape your kids' worldview?

And then, how do you make that happen in your homeschool?

Sorry if this doesn't make sense! I'm still trying to understand what my thoughts are.