Menu

Reading Lessons Through Literature question

anabelneri

Hey... I found this reading program through another thread on grammar, and was wondering if anyone had used Reading Lessons Through Literature yet?  How would it do as a spelling program?

I have a kindergartener almost done with OPGTR who reads and who was taught using phonics, but she's not the best at slowing down and sounding new words out.  This program looked like it might be a good fit.

Thanks!

I'm studying it, but haven't actually started using it yet.

It's available in pdf and displays nicely on my iPad Mini. That is a HUGE issue here.

The integration with Elson Primer sets it apart from other similar programs. It combines nicely with the Language series which has a more gentle introduction to grammar than LOE Essentials, and it's much more affordable. And the author is seriously considering publishing a fully marked and complete Ayer's list, which is my main beef with LOE Essentials. LOE is not finished and there isn't even any talk about finishing the Essentials. All efforts seem to be directed to the Foundations and I cannot afford that--no way no how.

The author is planning to continue the Language Lessons series all the way up, where LOE drops the grammar as well a the rest of the Ayer's list, in LOE Essentials. The 3 levels already released are already far ahead of LOE.

My options are more limited, needing a digital version. I dumped tea all over the last hardcopy book I was using which was my reading/spelling curriculum. I went on the hunt to see if there was anything new, and lo and behold there was something new, and the generous author gifted me the whole set. I'm really excited to try this.