Menu

Help with Spanish translations

Hello! I hope this is okay to post here. I am attempting to teach my daughters Spanish and learn it at the same time. I've just started. I have no Spanish background, but my husband took Spanish in highschool and has the average American's working knowledge of it. I've used Google translate to translate some commonly used phrases at our house so that I can say them in Spanish and English until we learn what they mean and then just Spanish. I am using Duolingo for myself to learn and I have started integrating more Spanish into our days with Whistlefritz, music cds, flashcards, children's books in Spanish, etc. Whenever we learn a new word, we try to use it in our everyday lives. My daughters are 3, and 8 mos.

My question is for those of you who are fluent in Spanish. I know that sometimes computer programs translate phrases in ways that are not typically used in the second language, that is literally rather than conversationally. I don't have enough knowledge of Spanish to know if these phrases are translated properly. If anybody can tell me whether they are translated correctly or offer suggestions, that would be extremely helpful. I don't want to teach myself or my daughters incorrectly! Thanks in advance! Here are the phrases I am starting with:

Do you need to use the restroom?

¿Es necesario usar el baño?

It is time for bed.

Es hora de dormer.

Eat your food, please.

Coma su comida, por favor.

Please put away your toys.

Por favor, pongo de lado sus juguetes.

You cannot watch tv right now.

No se puede ver la televisión en estos momentos.

Please be nice to your sister.

Por favor, ser amable con tu hermana.

Let’s go outside to play.

Vamos a ir a jugar afuera.