Menu

Prentice Hall Science Explorer vs. How the ___ Works for Astronomy

Catherine

and Earth Science. What are the pros and cons?

I found last year when I used the Reader's Digest books for Biology (fifth grade) the advance planning needed to use these books did not happen often enough. I will plan each lesson in advance, this summer, if I use them again this year.

I'm not very good at putting materials together myself, I prefer something that is more pick up and go. Is Prentice Hall pretty pick up and go? What is needed other than the student test? Thanks!

We like Science Explorer, but if you plan on doing many of the activities, you do need to plan ahead. And since it is designed for schools, some of the activities simply aren't feasible to do at home. I've found that the only way for me to deal with it is to sit down with the book and make a list of what activities I plan to do and what supplies I'll need for the whole year, and I order them all together. Then when the time comes, I know I have what I'll need. The books could be used without doing many of the activities, but it wouldn't be nearly as interesting. It's a lot of work up front, but the hands-on activities are what really grab my son.

Besides the text, I buy the lab manual and the study guide, both of which are inexpensive.

Karen

What is needed other than the student test?

Hi, Catherine!

I'm not familiar with the RD books, but PH has been a good fit for us. Besides the text, I liked having the "Guided Workbooks" (or some similar title) - I thought it was a good transition (I HOPE it's a good transition) to learning notetaking skills. The workbooks seemed (to me) to be good at helping the student to extract information and organize it in a useful way. As far as other items, I remember reading a post about the LabZone EZ Planner (or something similar) and wishing I'd gotten it, but never did and now can't remember what I thought would have been in there.