Menu

I've been hs'ing K-2nd; plan to put in ps in 3rd; anyone else done this?

Short time lurker and newbie here with my first post!

(I posted this on the general board and someone suggested I post it here since I didn't have much response from the general board).

Background:

I have two boys – oldest just turned 7 in March and youngest will turn 4 in July.

I have been homeschooling my oldest for K and 1st and we’ll begin 2nd this fall. All along my plan has been to teach them at home in these earliest K-2nd elementary years and put them into public school in 3rd. I plan to hs my youngest K – 2nd as well. I plan to go back to work at their school (I taught elementary for 10 yrs pre-momhood) when my youngest begins.

I have some anxieties about this transition back to ps (which is only a year away) --- some of which is just the basic anxiety of not being WITH my child all day every day as we have been heretofore.

I was curious as to whether there are others like me on this forum who are homeschooling knowing that public school is in the near future and who have re-entered the child/children during the mid-elementary years. (I tried to search and find threads on this, but didn’t have any luck) (know of any good threads on this subject?).

I’d really like to hear your thoughts and experiences.

What were your anxieties beforehand?

Did you find these anxieties to be “borrowed trouble†or not?

How was your child received?

What things were better or worse than you had anticipated?

Any surprises?

Did you find your child over or under prepared?

What might you have done differently to prepare him/her?

What did you do right to prepare him/her?

How did YOU prepare (emotionally)?

(I could list my other 96 questions, but you catch my drift, just wondering what were your experiences).

Thanks!