Menu

How can I find out what is going on?

My 13 year old niece is coming to stay with us this summer. She needs remedial help in math and language arts. She has been treated for ADHD for years, but is no longer taking medication. She has been in special classes at school and the only LD they have found is ADHD.

What can I do at home to find out how to help her? Her parent's refuse to do anything because they say she is just lazy, so I can't bring her in for testing.

I have no knowledge of LDs, aside from my son, who is hyperactive and on the Feingold diet.

I'm so grateful you guys are here; I'm really out of my depth on this one...

Thanks,

Carrie

Thanks, one l michele. Mine too.

I don't know how much her ADHD is affecting her now. I know they took her off medication a few years ago. I'm hoping being on the diet with my son will help some. It made a huge difference for him. So much so, that I don't know how to change my teaching style and curriculum choices to help my niece. Any advice would be appreciated.

I think there may be more than ADHD, but I don't know how to determine what. When they test them in public school, what do they look for? Do they only look for pronounced LDs? Or would they catch something more subtle? Should I continue looking or just go with what I know to be part of the problem?

Carrie

My 13 year old niece is coming to stay with us this summer. She needs remedial help in math and language arts. She has been treated for ADHD for years, but is no longer taking medication. She has been in special classes at school and the only LD they have found is ADHD.

What can I do at home to find out how to help her? Her parent's refuse to do anything because they say she is just lazy, so I can't bring her in for testing.

I have no knowledge of LDs, aside from my son, who is hyperactive and on the Feingold diet.

I'm so grateful you guys are here; I'm really out of my depth on this one...

Thanks,

Carrie