Menu

Vocabulary Musings...

Sunshine State Sue

Not exactly a curriculum question, but I felt it was more related to curriculum than what shows up on the general board...

I do not think of myself as having a terrific vocabulary. I'm perhaps average.

1.5 years ago, at the end of 6th grade, I gave ds the ITBS and he scored 11.7 grade in vocabulary. It was the only thing he scored above average in except math, and I have a degree in math, so the math score was no surprise. I was surprised about the vocabulary score because we never formally worked on vocabulary. I attributed this score to several things: reading good books, studying Latin (and his tutor at the time always gave him English words to look up that were related to Latin words he was learning), and Megawords, which includes some vocabulary. I plan on giving him the ITBS again at the end of this year. I'll be curious about the vocabulary score because we dropped Latin a year ago. :crying:

Anyway, what I noticed about ds is that perhaps his reading vocabulary is above average, but his speaking and writing vocabulary is definitely not. In his writing, in particular, he is terrible about using what Write Shop calls "weak" words - fun, have, good, big, look ,went, "to be" verbs, etc.

I have been pondering this difference and wondered if anyone else notices it and if it is typical. I don't know that I am necessarily wanting to "fix" anything. I just wanted to discuss it. I imagine it is somehow similar to young children being able to understand books that are read to them earlier than they are able to read those books themselves.

Thoughts?

I understand that it is completely normal to have a passive vocabulary that is significantly more extensive than one's active vocabulary. If you think about it, you yourself can probably identify some words that you would not write or use in conversation, but you have a good idea what they mean if you read them.