Menu

Could a 7th grader do Homer if he has not done any CW previously? Or do they have to start with Older Beginners?

Thank you,

Renee

Renee,

I would probably do the older beginners.

In Aesop they learn to outline, to define vocab, to add and properly punctuate quotations, to add descriptive detail and the parts of speech as well as retell a story. If your child can do all that then they should be able to go directly to Homer, if you prefer that.

Heather

I am no expert on CW. We will just be starting it next year but I have chosen to do the older beginners with my 7th grader even though he completed WT2 in 5th grade and has been outlining and writing 1 page summaries all this year as well as all of the R&S English 6 writing assignments. My reason for choosing OB rather than Homer A is that I want to complete Homer in 1 year so that we can move to the next level for 8th grade. Maybe this is just another way to think about it.

OB is just quicker.

If you use the work books, Homer is designed to take two years, but OB does all of Aesop and Homer in 22 weeks. And really Aesop is only the first two (maybe three) weeks. The Aesop stuff can be done with out the cores or skipped too, if it is $ that is making things questionable.

Of course if you understand what is going on, speeding through Homer isn't that hard, you'll just start at what ever level of each day they are ready for and move them through as quickly or as slowly as they need.

Cynthia,

So, he should do Homer A/B all in one year? How many lessons is that? I think he is strong in writing and grammar, but I guess I don't really know what that means.

Another question for anyone who can help. What will he be able to write at the end of this year? I know he'll be re-writing classic works, but when does he learn to write a report, essay, etc.

Thank you all very much,

Renee