Menu

Q. about fourth principal part of Latin verbs

Please tell me more about the fourth principal part of Latin verbs. I read that it is the perfect passive participle ("having been verbed"). I have been memorizing it like this: amo, amare, amavi, amatum

Today I read this form on a Henle-related site: amo, amare, amavi, amatus

So I searched online and found this info but I have some questions.

1. Does the perfect passive participle verb form change based on the gender?

(The active forms I am studying now do not change based on the gender of the subject or the object.)

2. So which form of the fourth principal part do you generally memorize (-um or -us)? Or does it not matter?

Please tell me more about the fourth principal part of Latin verbs. I read that it is the perfect passive participle ("having been verbed"). I have been memorizing it like this: amo, amare, amavi, amatum

Today I read this form on a Henle-related site: amo, amare, amavi, amatus

So I searched online and found this info but I have some questions.

1. Does the perfect passive participle verb form change based on the gender?

(The active forms I am studying now do not change based on the gender of the subject or the object.)

2. So which form of the fourth principal part do you generally memorize (-um or -us)? Or does it not matter?