Menu

Trying to decide what to change for the second semester...

vaquitita

Overall our year is going pretty well and I'm happy with most things we are using. I'm just feeling spread thin and find the same thing keeps getting dropped every week. :) This is my first year with three students. Between math, English and spelling I'm struggling to get it all in. But I don't want to leave out anything important either. I'm trying to find a balance between being involved as their teacher but not too parent intense. Lol. Can someone look over what we're doing and help me? Either to cut duplicate stuff or find a way to loop this stuff? :D

Math- all the kids are using MUS. Theoretically I only need to teach each kid once a week, but my 11yo is nearing the end of delta and he's got it down and I am trying to catch him up so he needs me to teach a new lesson 1-2x per week. My 9yo just started gamma, and it's super easy at he beginning so she's doing 2 lessons per week, tho she will soon be to new material and will slow down to once a week -probably next week. My 6yo is in alpha and he's just picking it up so fast, he's been doing two new lessons a week too. I'm hoping soon to slow him to one a week, once we get a little further in and the review pages contain more than the super simple stuff (+0, +1, +2).

English lessons thru literature- my oldest two are doing this. It's a 3 day a week program, but because we're behind we are doing it four days a week for the next three months. For my 9yo the lesson takes only 5-10 min, but for my 11yo it does take longer.