Menu

Newbie here: RightStart or Prof B?

talltexan

Hello! This will be my first year HSing my two boys, 5 and 3.5. I am trying to decide on which math to use. I really like what I've seen of both RightStart and Professor B. From the samples I've seen, they look similar in approach. Is that true? Do they both provide enough "meat" for a stand-alone math program? I am gathering that I will need to supplement activities on time and money--what else?

Thanks in advance for your help. I love learning from your experiences!

I haven't used Prof. B but we have used RS for 4 years now. I think it is a stand alone product, but you might want to add in word problems. We use Challenging Word Problems from Singapore, but they have gone out of print. I had heard they were coming out with a new word problem series...not sure if they have, though. We did not need to supplement for time or money. I did add Math Mammoth to supplement in this year because I was not playing the games as much as I should have, but I think that was my fault, not Rightstart.