Menu

Introducing Greek

Hey can someone compare The Greek Alphabet Code Cracker and A Greek Alphabetarian? How are they similar as far as what you learn and how are they different? I have heard these two mentioned the most and was wondering. Ds would like to do Greek in a year or so, but I am still learning about it. I know I want to introduce it slowly at first since he is also doing Latin. Also, how d I decide which form of Greek we should do?

The Greek Alphabet Code Cracker is geared toward fun while you learn the Greek alphabet. A Greek Alphabetarion is dry, but extremely thorough, in addition to learning the alphabet, blends, diphthongs, etc. there is counting, etymology and lots of reading practice.

We started out by learning the alphabet orally first. A friend of mine knew a song for the Greek alphabet (from her sorority days), so we sang the song for a while. Then, I introduced each letter individually with flashcards. After we could identify all the letters, we would practice matching the uppercase and lowercase letters and playing a Greek bingo game that I made. We've now been working our way through the Greek Alphabetarion to introduce the letter sounds, but we still work with the letters to keep them fresh in our minds. We review the guidewords given in the GA for the letter sounds daily, and when they are memorized, we add a new one. We are also practicing the GA's syllabary regularly for the letter sounds we know.

Greek Alphabetarion doesn't have bells and whistles, but it is easy way to introduce the letter sounds in a gentle manner. Just by listening in and watching our activities, my 4yo can recite the alphabet, identify about a third of the letters by name consistently and tell you some of the letter sounds/guidewords.